Shark, pt. 1

Hi guys, long time reader, first time writer. I’m not too talkative - mostly because this whole hobby is my Deep Dark Secret - but I appreciate all the writing y’all have done and figured I should try to give back to the people. Anyway, this was all written in a day as one draft, so PLEASE critique away - my biggest problem is the editing process. Anyway, this is a plot that I don’t think I’ve seen and thought it was worth at least putting out there for someone better than me at getting to the point to steal.

I intend to finish this but I’m a student so it might take a while.

Look, it was all a mistake, okay? I had no idea this sort of thing could even happen. Don’t look at me like I’m weird.

I’m a Harvard man. I have the jacket. Grew up a few blocks from the campus, in fact. I have a Harvard-caliber intellect, just not the right sort of pocketbook. That’s why I had to borrow money from Elise Thaumi. I’d heard horror stories about banks repossessing houses and generally destroying the life bought by a bachelor’s degree. A friend of mine told me about a friend of his in the Boston area, who had graduated a few years before either of us and ran a student loan service.

I met with her just after my high school graduation and she said it would be no problem to borrow all I needed, and with a pretty good rate of interest. I thought it sounded like a great idea. All she needed, she said, was a lock of my hair to keep on file. She said it was just in case I decided not to pay, so she could find me. Elise was all smiles and promised me it wouldn’t involve any breaking legs or anything, but she didn’t want me to think I’d be able to simply “forget” to give her a forwarding address when I moved to wherever the job market took me.