Ashley (Chapter 2 added 6/17/12)

This is my first attempt at a story. I don’t really write much, please let me know if there’s an error or something I could do to improve the story.

Chapter 1

George looked at the sullen excuse for a child that had just been dropped off at his house, and thought hard about what to do. He had nowhere left to run, she had no other living relatives, and she was his “fault” as her mother had called her.

He wished more than anything else that he could undo that night, but that wasn’t going to happen, and now he had to face the consequences.

“Hello Ashley, how’ve you been?” he asked, trying his hardest to look like he really cared, and wasn’t just the man who had left her all alone with her crack addicted mother.

“Fine,” she said, not making eye contact, and not even bothering to move her long, dirty blonde hair out of her eyes. Standing at only 4’2, she tried her hardest to hide behind it.

“Come in,” he said warmly, “I have a place set up for you to sleep.”

She cautiously followed him inside, trying hard to keep up with his long strides.

“It’s late now, but in the morning we’ll try to get to know each other better, okay?” he said, before quickly departing the room and leaving her to undress. He hoped she would be comfortable, the guest room was not well furnished, but he had been single and without the kind of guest that stayed in a separate room for at least 10 years, so he figured it would be forgivable. Certainly it had to be nicer than her mother’s place, at least it was clean.

He felt a moment of regret for what he had done to her mother, and knew he would not be sleeping easy that night. He had really been hoping that he was getting over this long time regret and would be able to move on, but apparently it wasn’t meant to be so, now he had a live in reminder of his teenage self’s stupidity.